DCMS adds seven new commissioners to Gambling Commission

Estimated read time 2 min read

Regulator taps into financial, legal and regulatory expertise as new faces join on five- and four-year terms  

Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS) Secretary Lucy Frazer has appointed seven new commissioners to the Gambling Commission (GC).

All seven appointments were effective from 11 September, with the GC now able to draw on experts from the financial, legal and regulatory sectors.

Joining the GC on five-year terms are Charles Counsell, Helen Dodds, Sheree Howard and Claudia Mortimore, while Lloydette Bai-Marrow, Helen Philips and David Rossington have been appointed on four-year terms.

Counsell previously served as the CEO of The Pensions Regulator (TPR) from April 2019 to March 2023, having also spent time as CEO of the Money Advice Service.

Dodds is an international lawyer and previously worked at Standard Chartered Bank. She is currently a board member of the Human Tissue Authority and a director at LegalUK.

Financial services veteran Howard is currently the executive director of risk and compliance oversight at the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA).

Mortimore has a decade of experience as a barrister and has worked with the Revenue and Customs Prosecutions Office (RCPO) and the Department for Business and Trade.

Anti-corruption expert Bai-Marrow joins the regulator having served as chair of Spotlight on Corruption. She is a co-founder of the Black Women in Leadership Network (BWLN).

Penultimately, Philips, who holds a PhD in Environmental Science, counts non-executive roles as chair of NHS Professionals and chair of the Chartered Insurance Institute on her CV.

Finally, former senior civil servant Rossington retains his place as a commissioner having been appointed on an interim basis in February.

All GC commissioners are remunerated at £14,160 per annum.

Arnold Ash is EGR’s Executive Recruitment Partner. They support ambitious organisations to identify and attract industry leading executive talent. Find out more here.


​EGR Intel

Read More


You May Also Like